"Toward a Common Understanding"

Advancing Education Scholarship for Clinical Faculty
in Canadian Medical Schools

A Position Paper - AUGUST 2012

Van Melle E, Curran V, Goldszmidt M, Lieff S, Lockyer J, St. Onge C. Toward a Common Understanding: Advancing Education Scholarship for Clinical Faculty in Canadian Medical Schools. A Position Paper. Ottawa:ON: Canadian Association for Medical Education; 2012.

Demands for evolution and transformation of medical education in Canada have never been greater. Indeed, providing leadership in developing new approaches in health professions education is emerging as a critical role for Academic Health Science Centres. As a result, there is a growing need for faculty members to focus on education scholarship as part of their academic commitment.

This position paper examines the question "What strategies are required to appropriately evaluate and support clinical faculty involved in education scholarship?" The paper begins by acknowledging that education scholarship is not a particularly well-defined or understood concept. Accordingly, a definition is provided. Also presented are six recommendations which describe key strategies required to advance education scholarship across the 17 Canadian medical schools.

This document should be required reading for those in leadership roles charged with supporting and promoting education scholarship. For those individual clinicians engaged in education scholarship this document provides important information to ensure that this critical work is appropriately acknowledged and rewarded.



CAME recognizes the importance of providing this document in both official languages. While it has been translated, the document is being reviewed to ensure that important key terms and central concepts are not lost in translation. However, we did not want to delay the launch of this position paper. As soon as it is available, the French document will be posted on the CAME website.

If you have any comments or questions, please do not hesitate to contact Elaine van Melle, vanmelle@queensu.ca or the CAME Office: smutschler@afmc.ca.

« Vers une vision commune »

Pour l'avancement du travail de scholarship en éducation
dans les écoles de médecine canadiennes

Un exposé de position - Août 2012

VAN MELLE, E., V. CURRAN, M. GOLDSZMIDT M, S. LIEFF, J. LOCKYER et C. ST. ONGE. Vers une vision commune – Pour l'avancement du travail de scholarship en éducation dans les écoles de médecine canadiennes. Un exposé de position, Ottawa (Ontario), Association canadienne pour l'éducation médicale, 2012.

Les appels pour l'évolution et la transformation de l'enseignement de la médecine au Canada n'ont jamais été aussi nombreux. Assurer le leadership dans le développement de nouvelles approches dans l'éducation des professionnels de la santé est devenu un rôle crucial pour les centres médico-hospitaliers universitaires. Il en résulte un besoin grandissant pour que les membres du personnel enseignant de ces centres accordent davantage d'importance et de place aux activités de scholarship en éducation dans leur travail pédagogique.

L'exposé de position répond à la question : « Quelles stratégies faut-il adopter pour évaluer et soutenir le personnel enseignant clinique qui participe au scholarship en éducation? ». Les auteurs y reconnaissent au départ que le scholarship en éducation est un concept assez mal défini ou mal compris et remédient à la situation en définissant le terme. Ils présentent ensuite six recommandations qui décrivent les principales stratégies nécessaires à l'avancement du scholarship en éducation dans les 17 écoles de médecine du Canada.

Ce document devrait être une lecture obligatoire pour toute personne jouant un rôle de direction et chargée de promouvoir le scholarship en éducation. Aux cliniciens qui participent au scholarship en éducation, ce document offre des renseignements importants pour faire en sorte que ce travail crucial soit reconnu et récompensé comme il se doit.

HYPERLIEN VERS L'EXPOSÉ DE POSITION

RÉSUMÉ

DOCUMENT INTÉGRAL

L'ACÉM reconnait l'importance de fournir le document dans les deux langues officielles. Le texte traduit est à l'étape de révision, car nous voulons nous assurer que les termes clés et concepts importants sont bien rendus à la traduction. Comme nous ne voulions pas retarder la diffusion de l'exposé de position, nous publierons la version française sur le site de l'ACÉM dès la révision terminée.

N'hésitez pas à transmettre vos questions ou commentaires à Elaine van Melle vanmelle@queensu.ca ou au bureau de l'ACÉM smutschler@afmc.ca.